Local Divisions End Season Strong at GMP
Posted on Sunday, August 11 @ 00:00:00 EDT by admin


Local Divisions End Season Strong at GMP


Jefferson, GA (August 11, 2013)- The rain was no match for Gresham Motorsports Park s Southern Super Series 30th-Annual Slack Auto Parts World Crown 300 presented by Peach State Freightliner and Ford Power Stroke Diesel and fireworks sponsored by Royal Oak. All divisions were able to complete the races with only a small rain delay before the opening ceremonies. Local divisions provided much excitement for the crowd as they raced for points and the purse.

The Mini Stocks got started with Avery Burgess taking the lead and Aaron Calvert, Spanky Hicks, Scotty Beck and B.J. Thrasher following behind him to make up the top five. Calvert challenged Burgess for the lead and Greg Swink and Bill George battled for seventh from behind. Swink brought out a caution on lap 17 when he spun out on the backstretch. Calvert took the lead off of the restart, but after two more cautions, Burgess took the lead from Calvert and the win and Dion Ciccarelli, Beck, George and Allen Cantrell rounded out the top five.

The Sportsman and Renegade race followed the Mini Stocks and it was 15 laps of action-packed racing. Jeff Chadwick and Jackie Daniel started the race off side-by-side with the rest of the field a good ways behind them. The first caution of the race was caused by Daniel and Chadwick. Chadwick took the lead off of the restart, but it wasn t long before another caution was called. Chadwick remained in the lead with Brian Sosbee behind him in second. Chadwick lead the field until the last lap. Chadwick and Bryan Beckner took the checkered flag for the Sportsman and Renegade race.

Emilee Riley started the truck race in the lead off of the green flag in front of Kevin Vassar, but Vassar didn t let her have the lead for long before he moved in front of her. Matt Vassar and Townsend made their way to the front with Kevin Vassar and Riley. Matt Vassar moved to the lead, in front of his brother, Kevin Vassar, and Riley. Matt Vassar held onto the lead until the checkered flag fell and Kevin Vassar, Riley, Ronnie Wehunt and Kristen Wallace finished in the top five.

The Peach State Freightliner Outlaw Late Models presented by Ford Power Stroke Diesel was an exciting race with Brian Hardman taking an early lead and Russell Shore close behind. Jason Bates tried to take second place from Shore, but could not make it happen and Hoyt Stephens took advantage of the situation and joined in the battle. Stephens took third position and eventually made his way to second with Bates and David Murphy behind him. By lap 22, Stephens had worked his way to the front of the field, but soon caused a caution when his car went up in smoke. Hardman gained the lead off of the restart, but he couldn t hold Bates behind him and Bates was the race winner with Hardman, Murphy, Shore and Joe Wilder making up the top five.

Unofficial Race results have been posted to GMP s website, www.RaceGMP.com. Videos from victory lane can be found on GMP s youtube channel, facebook and twitter.